Chelsea v Man City/ Extended highlights

Football PL 23/24: Chelsea v Man City
‘Premier League – Matchday 12: Chelsea vs Manchester City’. action from Stamford Bridge – London, England.
A quite extraordinary eight-goal thriller at Stamford Bridge comes to an end and the teams will share the spoils after a 4-4 draw. The game took a while to catch fire, Haaland putting City ahead in the 25th minute from the spot after being hauled down by Cucurella, but Chelsea responded, levelling through Thiago Silva’s header before Sterling scored against his former team to make it 2-1 to the hosts. Back came City, though, as an unmarked Akanji restored parity with a header in first-half added time before Haaland bundled home his second of the game to put the champions 3-2 up. Chelsea would again answer through Jackson to make it three goals apiece, but Rodri appeared to net the winner with four minutes left, firing home via a huge deflection off Thiago Silva to put City on the verge of victory. There would be one final twist, however, as Broja came off the bench to win a penalty after being brought down by Dias before Palmer, against the club whose academy he grew up in, stepped up to fire home from the spot and earn Pochettino’s men a point. The result moves Chelsea up into the top half, and they will look to continue their upturn in form away at injury-hit Newcastle United after the international break. City miss the chance to extend their lead at the summit to three points, and they have a huge home game with Liverpool to look forward to after the hiatus.

0:1 – Erling Haaland
1:1 – Thiago Silva
2:1 – Raheem Sterling
2:2 – Manuel Akanji
2:3 – Erling Haaland
3:3 – Nicolas Jackson
3:4 – Rodri
4:4 – Cole Palmer

  • Match Goals & Highlights

The two teams enter the Stamford Bridge pitch ahead of a huge Premier League clash for both sides. Chelsea will be looking to build on their win at Spurs, while City could extend their lead at the summit to three points.


CHELSEA (4-2-3-1): Robert Sanchez; Reece James, Axel Disasi, Thiago Silva, Marc Cucurella; Moises Caicedo, Enzo Fernandez; Cole Palmer, Conor Gallagher, Raheem Sterling; Nicolas Jackson.

MANCHESTER CITY (4-2-3-1): Ederson; Kyle Walker, Ruben Dias, Manuel Akanji, Josko Gvardiol; Rodri, Bernardo Silva; Phil Foden, Julian Alvarez, Jeremy Doku; Erling Haaland.

Leave a Reply